PDA

View Full Version : Custom RGBW driver--couple questions

rexxar
09-06-2015, 04:35 PM
Hi all, I'm an electronics engineering student. My brother who lead the local saber group asked if I could come up with an RGBW driver board, like the one UltraSabers sells. I did, and it needs some more testing, but it's just about ready to go. However, I'm not really into sabers, so I have a few questions as to their construction.

So far, I've only worked with UltraSabers, and they seem to be pretty much the same construction; 7/16" hole for the button, and a removable housing/lens/heatsing combo. Is that standard fare for sabers, or are there other standard designs that I need to consider? If the LED housing is standard, then I need to find a source for one that has at least five holes for wires, since they sometimes only have two.

The whole thing is designed to be a DIY upgrade kit--no soldering, just plug it in. Is there anything else I should be aware of?

Forgetful Jedi Knight
09-06-2015, 04:51 PM
Welcome to the Forums.

The vendor you mentioned isn't really discussed in these parts. As far as parts go, you can see what is sold in our store, and see if any of that would fit your purposes. Wether or not it would fit in US's stuff, I couldn't say for sure.

rexxar
09-08-2015, 10:20 AM
The vendor you mentioned isn't really discussed in these parts.

Understandable. Probably for the same reasons I'm posting here instead of there.

As far as parts go, you can see what is sold in our store, and see if any of that would fit your purposes. Wether or not it would fit in US's stuff, I couldn't say for sure.