PDA

View Full Version : Tri-Cree blade not mixing very well.

DarthMace
07-29-2015, 02:06 PM
In my most recent lightsaber (http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com/showthread.php?17815-Miraan-build-log&highlight=miraan), I have one of the RGB tri-Cree LED's that TCSS sells. I'm using a trans-white 7/8" blade, with a few feet of cellophane inside. The problem is; the colors tend to separate near the bottom of the blade. For instance, with a green/red mix for yellow, the individual colors are pretty visible. (it does get better towards the top of the blade)
Does anyone have an idea for a blade configuration that would help fix this problem?

jt_trouble
07-29-2015, 05:55 PM
Are you using a 7/8ths blade in a 1" blade holder? That may cause problems, I am no expert but could be something to look into. Are you using the 18 degree lens? Couple things to check

DarthMace
07-29-2015, 07:33 PM
Yes. I am using a small piece of 1" thin-wall blade as a adapter for the 7/8" blade. The lens is the small 18 degree one from TCSS.

I have tried the saber with a thick-wall blade with corbin film, as well as a 1" thin wall trans-white with cellophane. They all seem to have some degree of color separation.

Jay-gon Jinn
07-29-2015, 08:44 PM
Double check your lens to make sure it's properly aligned over the led's.

DarthMace
07-30-2015, 11:37 AM
Yeah, the lens is centered perfectly:

JD8a27
07-30-2015, 12:26 PM
What I think Jay-gon Jinn was saying is take the can/LED holder off of the LED, and make sure each individual LED is aligned correctly onto each of it's individual optical ports. Sometimes misalignment happens and the LEDs aren't properly sitting withing the optics.

Jay-gon Jinn
07-30-2015, 01:47 PM
What I think Jay-gon Jinn was saying is take the can/LED holder off of the LED, and make sure each individual LED is aligned correctly onto each of it's individual optical ports. Sometimes misalignment happens and the LEDs aren't properly sitting withing the optics.