PDA

View Full Version : Wiring diagram and resistor check please!

Zahc Zi Phan
07-07-2015, 02:36 PM

Hey again. I finally have a wiring diagram. I know it looks like Bantha poo-doo. I am really sorry if this is hard to follow. I tried my best to make it readable. It is my first time making one so yeah. Sorry. I did not draw in the resistors but here is a list below of what I came up with:

For 5mm RGB common cathode (crystal chamber) wired to PWM signals, each with a FV of 3.3 and run at 18ma:
Red lead 2.0v 18ma: 82ohm 1/8th watt
Green lead 3.2v 18ma: 5.6ohm 1/8th watt
Blue lead 3.2v 18ma: 5.6ohm 1/8th watt

For two 12mm AV switch LEDs, blue and green, each with FV of 3.0v and run at 20ma:
Blue LED 3.0v 20ma: 15ohm 1/8th watt
Green LED 3.0v 20ma: 15ohm 1/8th watt

No resistors for MAIN LEDs. Tri-Cree XP-E2.

Zahc Zi Phan
07-07-2015, 08:07 PM
Please!? Anyone? Lol.

sgcdialler
07-07-2015, 09:16 PM
Diagram looks good to me. I would have your LEDs' grounds return to the main board negative instead of the button ground, since you're going to have a lot of wires stacked there the way it is right now . All your resistor calculations look good to me. Those are actually the same numbers I came up with for my crystal chamber LED as well.

sgcdialler
07-17-2015, 08:41 PM
As another thought: For your buttons, you can cut down on the number of ground wires by wiring the buttons' negative leads to each other. So, for example, run the act- to the actLED- to the aux- to the auxLED- straight to the ground pad on the board. That way you only have one ground line going from the buttons to the board. It should all be the same, electrically, as what you have in the diagram, just much more efficient in terms of space. If your 5mm LED is positioned properly, you could probably get away with splicing its ground into that chain somewhere as well.

Zahc Zi Phan
07-17-2015, 08:53 PM