PDA

View Full Version : Noob's best options for a yellow blade

ArcGunner
05-11-2015, 09:37 AM
Hey, long time reader first time posting.

I have been doing my research on the best options for attaining a BRIGHT yellow blade for my first custom lightsaber.

I have a few options before me, but the best option I see is using a multi-led and mixing colors.

My saber is using a resistor, (no buck-puck) and no soundboard.

Most led color mixing sabers I have seen use a board, hence my asking for help.

This saber will be stage combat only, with no sounds. Does it require a board to mix LED colors?

As I said, i am a noob, and this is probably a ****e question, but any help, or directions to threads explaining this better would be GREAT!

Bark
05-11-2015, 11:02 AM
I have no first-hand experience, but a quick Google says that RED and GREEN mixed produces YELLOW. If true, I would think get a R-G-B tri-color LED, like the Red/Green/Royal Blue Cree XP-E2 CopperNova (http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/RedGreenRoyal-Blue-Cree-XP-E2-CopperNova-P1016.aspx), and wire the Red and Green dies but not the Royal Blue one.

No muss and no fuss, but again I don't know first-hand either the apparent color of the mix or its brightness. On the other hand, if it doesn't work and you have to explore other options, the tri-color LEDs may still prove useful. It wouldn't be a complete waste.

Yoshi-Taka
05-11-2015, 11:09 AM
I've done yellow a few times via colour mixing. Red and Green dice are the way to do it, it's just a matter of using the right resistors to accomplish the right shade of yellow. I personally resistor the Green more heavily as I've found it drowns out the yellow. If you use a [normally] optimal resistor on the Red and a heavier resistor for the Green (let's say, a 4.7ohm 5w resistor), you'll get a nice shade of yellow with a slight green tinge at the bottom of the blade. This is assuming you wire the dice in parallel, of course.