PDA

View Full Version : My First PVC Saber...Electronics question

Romeo622
04-25-2015, 08:20 PM
Hello Everyone,

I am new to the Saber building community (and this Forum...LOVE IT by the way!!!) and have decided to try my hand at building a pvc saber for starters. I have been pouring over the forums for a few days now, and have really learned more than I expected to. I have tried to research on my own to find the answers to the questions I have, but have been unable to find answers that make me feel confident that I am ready to proceed with the parts ordering. I just want to do a simple setup without sound, and just a single LED for the blade. So here is what I have so far...

Red CREE XP-E2
BuckPuck 1000Ma (4 wire)
16mm AV Latching Red Ring Switch (this is the switch I want to use)

The questions I have are...

1.) The switch description states that I will need a resistor because the switch does not have a built in resistor. Is this the case only when you go with a resistor setup instead of a BuckPuck setup? Or is a resistor needed even if you have a BuckPuck?

2.) I am not really sure what would be the best route as far a battery (or batteries) for this setup. The Buck Puck will limit the voltage to the led, but will not boost it right? So if I supply more voltage to the blade LED, than required, the BuckPuck will only supply what the LED needs correct? Or have I got it all wrong?

Any help will be greatly appreciated. And I really did try to find the answers myself...I swear!

Sevinzol
04-25-2015, 08:39 PM
1) the resistor on the switch is for the light on the switch, the buck puck is for the main blade LED. You can use a dyna-ohm

2) The buck puck will provide constant current. this means the blade will stay light longer than with a resistor. Unless you want to over drive the LED, a BP will be a good option. (its larger than a resistor and you it has a voltage threshold (5.0 volts I think))

Romeo622
04-26-2015, 11:30 AM