PDA

View Full Version : Heat problem

boikonur
12-05-2014, 02:36 AM
I noticed that my string blade is getting really hot at the beginning of the string. I have reinforced the common-anode with additional copper wire but the heating is still there. My concern is that the heat there will damage the leds. the current is around 2A at 3,4V for the whole string. Can someone suggest how to rewire/ reinforce the blade in order to save my precious leds?
Regards,
Bobi

Jedi Madoc Mo'gu Red-Moon
12-09-2014, 01:56 PM
copper is a conductor, not an insulator. it only insulates against magnetic fields and not against heat sources. seems like you might just need some venting. but dont take my word on it im just a noob, but try using an insulating material rather than a conductor is my poke at 2 cents.

JakeSoft
12-09-2014, 02:13 PM
copper is a conductor, not an insulator. it only insulates against magnetic fields and not against heat sources. seems like you might just need some venting. but dont take my word on it im just a noob, but try using an insulating material rather than a conductor is my poke at 2 cents.

Unless the heat is being caused by a short, wrapping the area with an insulator will likely only make the problem worse in terms of prolonging LED life. The heat needs to be dissipated into the air. Wrapping it with a heat insulator would be like wrapping yourself in a winter coat and expecting to become cooler. The air will remain cooler, but the electrical components will become hotter because they can't get rid of their heat as easily.

Jedi Madoc Mo'gu Red-Moon
12-09-2014, 09:19 PM