PDA

View Full Version : First saber with sound

cvsickle
11-02-2014, 08:21 PM
Hi,

I've been playing around with sabers for about 6 months or so. I modified some of the less-than-desired-quality sabers from you know who before I finally came to my senses and started building my own. I have recently finished my first saber with sound, just in time for halloween. It wasn't easy. Or cheap. I had many problems along the way, which I owe many thanks to the people of this forum for, but plenty of patience and determination (also design changes. Many, many design changes) got me through to the end.

I haven't named it yet, so feel free to make suggestions ;)

Specs:
PCv3 (7.4v)
CEx
2x 12mm AV Green momentaries
Tri Cree RGrB
28mm premium speaker
Recharge and RICE ports
MHS body
MHS chassis

Pics:

Had to get creative with wiring to get around the V5 speaker holder to the style 13 pommel insert.

Spent way too much time on the chassis.

I was trying to use some JQ tactile switches, but there ended up not being enough room in the 6" extension I was using for the tactile switch ring. I bought activation box 1 to compensate, but by poor machining looked like crap with the switches installed.

cvsickle
11-02-2014, 08:24 PM
I instead opted for the 12mm AV switches, given the easy install with the nut, but I had to dremel-fu some room in both the box and the extension to fit them.

Here's all the pieces pre-assembly.

Some finished pics:

cvsickle
11-02-2014, 08:26 PM
More finished pics:

I've learned a ton and I'm looking forward to pushing the bar even further on my next saber. Thanks for being such a helpful and fun community. Let me know what you guys think! I strive on constructive criticism.

setelf3of5
11-02-2014, 09:33 PM
Nice looking build. Very creative!

Silver Serpent
11-03-2014, 05:46 AM
That's a fine looking saber you have there. A little color would really make it pop.

Good job on your build!

cvsickle
11-03-2014, 06:00 AM