PDA

View Full Version : what battery's should I use?

blkmorgan
10-20-2014, 12:15 PM
Hey everyone, new to the forums and new to saber building. I have a problem. I am going to be using a Luxeon rebel star LED that puts out 320lm@ 1000mA w/ 3.1v along with a 4 wire 1000mA buck puck that has a min. voltage of 5v and a mx of 32V. I'll be using just a standard no frill switch. My question is what type and how many batteries do I use. That is the only hiccup im having right now. Oh and im a noob at electronics. A tenact at the storage facility I work at said he would help me with the soldering and placement but told me to find and figure out what I would need by myself so I could learn for my next build.(the guy is like 80 so I wasn't going to argue) any suggestions and or help would be greatly appreciated.

Silver Serpent
10-20-2014, 12:53 PM
A 7.4v li-ion pack would be ideal. See here for premade packs: http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/Li-ion-Packs-C85.aspx

Be sure the switch you use is a latching type switch. If you get a momentary switch, you'll also need a momentary-to-latching converter. http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/Momentary-to-latching-converter-45-20V-P929.aspx

blkmorgan
10-20-2014, 01:44 PM
Thanks. The latching switch is what I should have said in the first place. I think my confusion with the batteries is that they all have a voltage per battery i.e. 9vlots are 9v and I don't want to fry the LED by putting to many batteries or having a dull light by having not enough.

blkmorgan
10-20-2014, 02:00 PM
1 more. The link gives me the option of several 7.4v packs. Which one would I go for. A lower mAh of 800, a higher one at 1600 or a mid at 1050. This is what is confusing me

snilam
10-20-2014, 06:50 PM
i go with the biggest mAh I can get away with for a longer run time. but depends on the hilt size constraints.

blkmorgan
10-20-2014, 07:27 PM
That's what I was hoping someone would say. Thanks!!!

Silver Serpent
10-21-2014, 07:01 AM