PDA

View Full Version : Noob question about soldering tools

Darth Kato
09-17-2014, 05:07 PM
Hey guys, I'm new to sabers and building. Up until about a month ago i didnt know there were lightsabers available other than the $9 plastic ones at walmart. Been reading on the forum a lot and I'm pretty confident in the parts list I have going as well as the wiring diagram and chassis design. I do have a couple questions i havnt found an answer to yet though.

1. What is the best type of solder to use and what size?
2. What would be the best choice for a soldering iron. I read in one thread where the guy was using too low of a power iron and was doing more damage to the wires than if he had a hotter one. So what is a good power for irons? (Example: 25w, 40w, 60w exc.)
3. What would be a good size tip to use when doing wires to sound boards. (example: 2mm soldering tip)
4. With the NBv2, do the wire go through the board and then solder them? It looks like they do by looking at the pictures but I'm not sure on this.
5. I've seen some videos where guys use hot glue to glue wires down onto the sou dboard to keep them from vibrating and breaking off. Could I use hot glue to adhere a power extender for FOC to a chassis disk so that its not just free floating? Or will the glue damage the board?

I have a few more but I'm sure if I keep looking and reading I'll find the answers to those in the archives :)

Gnar-Gnar Gin
09-17-2014, 05:18 PM
Everyone has different budgets and different preferences... for me:

1) I like to use lead free solder
2)I use Radio Shack's pro line soldering iron, i used to use a cheap one, and the difference is huge!
3)I use the standard pro line tip for mine, I found it good all around
4)Most people recommend not going though the board with the wires (easier to break off due to the angles the wires will have in the saber, also tougher to solder properly through the board)
5)I use hot glue to secure my PEx with no issues

Darth Kato
09-17-2014, 06:05 PM