PDA

View Full Version : wiring check: NBv2 with recharge port, AV, LED, speaker

griva86
08-03-2014, 12:56 AM
Hello all,

This is my first build, and I am excited! Thanks to the tremendous amount of info you have all put up here for us, and HUGE thanks to Tim for the shop. I have spent weeks and then some reading, but still have quite a bit to learn. I am starting with a pretty basic build and requesting a wiring check.

First, a few questions that I could not find the answers to...if there is a thread you think would be helpful, please feel free to point me in the right direction:

1. What size wire is best for wiring a basic saber? I can't seem to find this info. The shop has 22g, 24g, and 26g.
2. I noticed that the NBv2 has a 3.3v accent pad which Erv mentions can be used for AV switches, but I have seen other wiring diagrams that have this coming straight off the line from the battery to the main LED. It seems that this second method would easier to use since a split near the AV switch and the LED would lead to less wiring "spaghetti" inside. Any reason not to do this?

Now for the wiring (thanks to dgregory, the schematic is shamelessly stolen from his post as it helped me a lot):

http://i1293.photobucket.com/albums/b585/griva86/Mobile%20Uploads/2014-08/85DF3483-1C1A-4A5A-AA3A-716C397ADE62_zpshhycrdef.jpg (http://s1293.photobucket.com/user/griva86/media/Mobile%20Uploads/2014-08/85DF3483-1C1A-4A5A-AA3A-716C397ADE62_zpshhycrdef.jpg.html)

LED Calc
blue rebel star MWS
R=(3.7v-3.2v)/1A = .5 ohms
P=(3.7v-3.2v)*1A = 0.5 W

AV LED
white short momentary
R=(3.7v-3.0v)/.02= 35 ohm
P=(3.7v-3.0v)*.02= 0.014w

3. For the main LED, would I choose the .47ohm/.5w, the 1ohm/2w, or the 2ohm/1w resistor for the main?
4. For the AV switch, would I choose 82ohm/.25w resistor? I could always cheese out and use the DynOhm :-)