PDA

View Full Version : Lightsaber Naginata

Bwhalen0119
07-21-2014, 12:36 AM
This is my first time making a saber and my first time posting; so go easy on my Masters.:D

I am aiming to build a Naginata type saber; similar to the Spear/Sword Mage Hawke uses in DragonAgeII (http://youtu.be/750KflE-Yew). Here is a Template render I created. The hilt will be long (38in) so I am designing a way for it to fold in half, clip to a covertec, and then fold back out straight again and be held in place with a sliding shroud. I have already created a Rotating Crystal Camber Unit from designs by this guy (http://youtu.be/azjmAvSdXXs). now i just need to work on the rest.

But anyway, here are two images that I am working toward.

Folded to wear> 10237

Extended to fight> 10238

I look forward to hearing what all of you Master builders have to say about my design. Tips, tricks, and Criticism welcome.

Silver Serpent
07-21-2014, 05:24 AM
Seems plausible. Not sure how sturdy that joint would be. I hope you've got some solid metalworking skills in your belt already, since you'll be doing something I've never seen anyone else do in the saber hobby.

Good luck!

Sidd
07-21-2014, 05:56 AM
I just built a pike myself. you probably will not want it hanging from you belt, its going to be pretty heavy

The one I build I followed this design in this http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com/showthread.php?15207-First-build-Light-Yari

but I have my lengths a bit different to mot fit my styles and I only use a MR Yoda board cause i had several on hand

http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l134/snipersidd/Saber%20stuff/Custom%20saber%20builds/IMAG0319_zpsupnhgo8n.jpg

Forgetful Jedi Knight
07-21-2014, 07:11 AM
Welcome to the Forums.