PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with more goofey questions

unclescary
12-28-2013, 05:48 PM
Hello there,
I am new to the saber building thing and have been throwing around the idea for a few years. I have come up with a MHS desigh and before I order the part, I wanted to know if what I am trying to achieve is even possible. I have seen many amazing sabers in the gallery, but nothing to what I am concocting in my brain. Here's the Idea.

I want to Put the heat sink further back and have vents to see the saber. I know that will take off from the blade length and I'm cool with that.

Forgetful Jedi Knight
12-28-2013, 06:35 PM
First off, Welcome to the Forums.

Your plan may also make your blade rather dim as some of the light may not be directly focused up through the blade. Plus there will be some wobble in the chamber sections, the ID is 1.25" and blades are only 1"

Silver Serpent
12-28-2013, 06:59 PM
It'd be easier to install a small accent LED in the slotted section and use that to illuminate that particular part. Trying to do what you're describing will require custom fabrication of an extra long blade holder.

TrypWyr
12-28-2013, 07:19 PM
Your plan may also make your blade rather dim as some of the light may not be directly focused up through the blade.

Actually, I don't think this is a concern. It would be just like an extra long blade holder with cutouts (similar to BH22 but even longer), so long as the blade does actually go down all the way to the led assembly. Now this would also mean a longer blade, so you could be looking at dimming issues due to that, but that would be the case with any saber.

Plus there will be some wobble in the chamber sections, the ID is 1.25" and blades are only 1"