PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong- can't get blade to light up? (pics)

Matimeo
11-09-2013, 11:28 AM
Here are two pics of my first saber build, one in daylight in my living room and one in another room that is almost totally dark.

Background:
This is my first build.

Blade: 36" of 1"OD thick walled polycarbonate, sandedd on the outside, about 5 feet of clear cellophane gift wrap from Amazon (click to see link) (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0012F32CK/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1):

LED: 3W Green (sourced on ebay). 100 lumens at 900mah, 5 degree lens also sourced on ebay. With the blade out, it is plenty bright, too bright to look at.
Blade sits in the hilt 2".

I can't figure out why the blade isn't lighting up more than this. Seems like other posters have shown much fuller blades. I wondered if I put in too much cello wrap, but the blade is still way brighter at the bottom. I have a more than adequate reflective tip in there, so almost all the light is getting reflected back down. There isn't a noticeable difference in the fullness of the blade after inserting the wrap compared to when I lit it with just the sanded blade. Anybody have a guess as to what I'm doing wrong? Thanks for everyone's help! This site is the best.

Matimeo
11-09-2013, 12:50 PM
Here's what the light pattern looks like with the blade off, with me standing about three feet from the wall. Does that look about right for a 5 degree lens? I got the blade a little brighter by finding the sweet spot with the film (not too much or too little), but it is still way less than what I expected. I guess I'm trying to figure out where the problem is or if I was just disillusioned about what the final product would look like.

Eco
11-09-2013, 01:36 PM
By your account, your blade should be just fine.
First step: Charge or change the batteries. If that doesn't fix it, double-check your power setup. You might be under driving the LED, as it should probably be way brighter than that.