PDA

View Full Version : First Build

JediEngineer
01-26-2013, 06:29 PM
Hey. I'm new to the whole lightsaber building but since I'm a huge star wars fan and always had an interest in engineering, I figured it's time for me to design and build a couple of lightsabers.

Because I'm new at this I figured I'd start with a simple design. It includes:
Main Body style 4
Blade Holder style 18
Pommel style 4
Choke style 3
LED color white (with the 12 color disks)
36" TCSS battle blade 1"OD

Powder Coating color = Copper Metallic

The wiring is the basic kit but with the white latching switch because I've done more complex wiring and felt it would give a better overall look to the hilt.

Unfortunately I can't start the project because of the powder coating situation but I'd love to know what you fellow Force-users think so far

Forgetful Jedi Knight
01-26-2013, 06:38 PM
Welcome to the forums.

It looks pretty good for a beginning saber. Are you planning to put sound into it?

JediEngineer
01-26-2013, 06:52 PM
Nah not on this one but I'm starting to design and plan out another hilt with the sound built in. I'm having a bit of trouble with the chassis design/planning but that's why there's these forums

Forgetful Jedi Knight
01-26-2013, 07:09 PM
Nah not on this one but I'm starting to design and plan out another hilt with the sound built in. I'm having a bit of trouble with the chassis design/planning but that's why there's these forums

True. Well make sure you do a lot of reading and going through the galleries. You'll likely find what you seek. ;)

Darth Ryo
01-28-2013, 02:37 AM

Hey and welcome,

Nice design to start with!
Regarding the chassis, you'll find a lot of possibilities from chassis disk in the store to custom PVC chassis you'd cut and sand yourself. Just browse, look at the galery and gather ideas for what would fit your needs most ;)
Above all, enjoy!

JediEngineer
02-07-2013, 05:27 PM
Had to change the design up a bit, but this is what I got:
Hilt style 4