PDA

View Full Version : nanobiscotte resistor question

whitmers
10-17-2012, 06:13 PM
Man, this board is so much smaller than I expected. It's pretty awesome.

In this experiment of mine, I see that it asks for 1 cell lion, if I get a two cell holder and use a dummy cell, will that get me the same result effectively?

Also, would using a BuckPuck 1000mA, be better than using a resistor?

FenderBender
10-17-2012, 06:20 PM
What LED are you using?

Most pucks don't work with less than 5V

whitmers
10-20-2012, 06:01 PM
Not sure, I think its 5w, I'll find out when i get inside.

Since this board is esd (I'm still new to it), are people using an anti-static wrist strap or anti static mats? Does it matter?

Forgetful Jedi Knight
10-20-2012, 06:46 PM
In my opinion, using a buckpuck would NOT be better in this case. Also depending on which color LED you have the resistor you need could be minimal, as the blues, greens, whites are close to the voltage of a single cell battery (3.7V)

Also if you search around for an 18650 single cell holder, you can use that with your NB depending on your saber design. ;)

whitmers
10-21-2012, 02:34 PM
could using a dual holder/ speaker combo with a dummy cell work? I was initially planning on using a dual lion 14500, then upon closer inspection thought that using a single 14500 + dummy cell would work.

Forgetful Jedi Knight
10-21-2012, 02:37 PM
could using a dual holder/ speaker combo with a dummy cell work?

Yes. But again, your run time will be less with 14500's vs. an 18650.

Machinimax
10-21-2012, 05:08 PM
In my opinion, using a buckpuck would NOT be better in this case. Also depending on which color LED you have the resistor you need could be minimal, as the blues, greens, whites are close to the voltage of a single cell battery (3.7V)