PDA

View Full Version : No Soldering?

Resta01
10-08-2012, 05:10 PM
Ok this is probably a stupid question but I am a complete noob. I have been planning my first build and it appears to me that with a combination of the MHS and MWS parts I won't have to solder anything. However if I want a recharge port I will have to?

Edit- Ok looks like if I want swing and clash sensors I will need to get a soldering iron so I guess that's what I'm going to do. I completely admit to being very intimidated by the soldering part.

Machinimax
10-08-2012, 06:17 PM
Well the swing and clash sensors are replacement parts for an older version of the soundcard sold here, the Petit Crouton. If you want sound, the Petit Crouton is one of the many options you can go with. If you are afraid of soldering, the board is also sold pre-wired using the MWS JST connectors but they also take up extra space in your hilt so be cautious of that.

Resta01
10-08-2012, 06:51 PM
Well I definitely decided I want a recharge port so I think I'll have to solder no matter what. I am curious what kind of combo of MWS parts I can use while still installing a recharge port?

Edit- Also it seems the MWS speaker/battery packs are not very conducive to a recharge port.

Kyaryo Ysoyav
10-08-2012, 07:28 PM
Edit- Also it seems the MWS speaker/battery packs are not very conducive to a recharge port.

What makes you say this? I've heard that packs made of cells that each have their own PCB can cause problems in the long run, but the blue packs that share a PCB should work fine...

like this one:
http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/74v-Li-ion-800mAh-14500-Battery-Pack-P698.aspx

You just have to buy a smart charger and the 2.1mm plug adaptor:
http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/21mm-plug-adapter-for-smart-charger-P36.aspx

Resta01
10-08-2012, 07:42 PM