PDA

View Full Version : Rusty's from-scratch Luke's ROTJ

rusty_shackleford
08-31-2012, 06:28 PM
*edit* this is my first build, please be gentle

ok, ive been lurking on the board and the shop long enough, i decided to make a thread of my progress over the past 4 weeks.

Since I have the equipment and recently been trained in our tool room at work, i decided to put my skills to the test and make a saber based off Luke's ROTJ.

I've looked at pictures from this forum, build a saber with the MHS builder, seen other's replica pictures, and of course seen the slothfurnace build (WAY beyond my skill). There were some liberties taken in the design such as certain diameters, lengths, and other minor details but in the end, i'd like it to be as good of a representation as i can make.

I'm doing this by modeling and drawing all components in solidworks and machining from solid aluminum barstock, and programming our CNC bed mill with solidcam. I've already gotten most of the hilt complete so I'll start with the first steps, the lathe. these are all phone pics, i have some on the camera at work ill add later.

(These are all made from SOLID 2" aluminum barstock)

Ribbed for her pleasure:

Then the pommel:

Then the blade holder:

All pieces at my desk, lathe work only:

The blade holder was originally going to be 2 piece, I later scrapped for 1 piece design but did not take pictures of the 2nd lathe work.

Next post is mill work. (not much)

rusty_shackleford
08-31-2012, 06:37 PM
After I was satisfied with the lathe work i began putting some finishing touches on them with the mill:

Programmed the CNC bed mill to make the grooves in the pommel:

I took design cues from the TCSS blade holder cuz its jut plain awesome:

(insert in-progress pic later)

did a test fit:

It was here that I realized the 2 body sections between the grip and the pommel are too long. I shortened 1 by an inch. no pics of that, sorry.

Here is the switch box:

rusty_shackleford
08-31-2012, 06:47 PM