PDA

View Full Version : 1st Saber- All Custom Self Machined Parts (No MHS parts)

Philip J Fry
05-19-2012, 12:42 PM
I'm a college student who works in a machine shop. The awesome perk of the job is that when the shop is quiet and there are no people to help out I get to pretty much have free reign of the shop and make whatever I like. This is the saber I've been working on for the past couple months. Unfortunately I don't have a step by step process of how it was build from the initial sketches to the final product. My goal was to make a saber that was entirely machined by myself without buying any parts from TCSS. With the exception of the screws and the red switch, I machined the entire saber from stock aluminum/brass.

As far as the inspiration for this saber goes, many of my ideas came from the starkiller saber. The crystal chamber was heavily influenced by the superior craftsmanship of both slothfurnace's and boshwan527's chambers. The idea for the blade plug at the end definitely came from ARKM's blade plug designs, but since my goal was to machine the entire saber, I went ahead and made my own plug. As far as the rest of the saber goes, I pretty much doodled around with sketches until I found pieces that I thought best fit the saber.

Well enough with the introduction. Here is my first attempt (Definitely not last!) at fabricating a lightsaber. I hope you enjoy. :)

Philip J Fry
05-19-2012, 09:47 PM

Here is the emitter with the blade plug I made. The turbine shaped cone was free handed on a lathe and then sanded to smoothness. The razor blade head I had laying around the house. The emitter itself was turned on a lathe and then the 4 slots milled out. The plug is attached to the emitter via a polycarbonate backing so light can pass through and light up the razor plug.

Philip J Fry
05-19-2012, 10:09 PM