PDA

View Full Version : What obvious and stupid thing have I missed

dekekun
04-11-2012, 03:02 AM
So I'm a noob to all this, learning as I go, so sorry if this is so blatantly obvious to everyone else but me, infact I'll be relieved if it is.

Anyway, just started wiring up my LED saber. My components are as follows:
- Luxeon Rebel Star Amber (3.6V 700mA recommended)
- Single AA Trustfire 3.7V

Now I will have more to add to this circuit later, switch, soundboard etc, but I thought that, as a start, simply wiring a battery straight to the LED would power on the LED. I'm using quick-connects, so just wired a pair to the battery and a pair to the LED. Red wire on the plus on both the led and the battery pack, black wire on the negative on both.

The LED does not power on.

TuxedoCartman
04-11-2012, 04:50 AM
Off the top of my head, two things...
1) ALWAYS use a resistor! Doesn't matter that the voltage is the same, you need a resistor on there. It looks like you can get away with a 1-wattt, 1ohm resistor. (http://led.linear1.org/1led.wiz?VS=3.7;VF=3.6;ID=700)
2) And this one is probably why you're not getting any results... have you hooked the Trustfire up to a charger yet? They're shipped with the PCB in a safety mode, where they won't provide any juice until connected to a charger.

dekekun
04-11-2012, 04:53 AM
Isnt there an entire thread on here dedicated to how to run LEDs without using a resistor? The gist of which was that as long as the V and mA are within tolerances it should be safe. Again this isn't permanent, I just wanted to test that it worked (which I thought it should) before I wired up the much more complex bits like the soundcard. Obviously the soundcard has resistors on it to run the LED.

And the trustfire is charged, I tested it in one of my other sabers, and it powers on normally.

Silver Serpent
04-11-2012, 06:23 AM