PDA

View Full Version : So expensive

fatalonemanarmy
02-27-2012, 04:28 PM
I am really interested in building my own lightsaber, but man is it expensive. I started putting it together with the custom shop, and I only had the out part together without any electronics, and I was already over 100. I understand why it's so expensive, but is there a cheaper way?

Boj-Vaati Mau
02-27-2012, 04:34 PM
Sink tube, PVC, or some other tube shaped material.

Garrek
02-27-2012, 04:36 PM
Choice 1 Buy an FX saber.
Choice 2 Make it out of plumbing pipe. Metal or PVC your choice.
Choice 3 Find a new hobby, this one isn't cheap.

pvcpo
02-27-2012, 05:13 PM
well choice 3 doesnt sound like it, i would say save for what you really want- pvc is a great way to build inexpensive, stylish sabers with a little work, sinktube is another way, ive been building for over three years and im just getting to mhs parts, pvc has kept me plenty busy and ive seen plenty of impressive pvc sabers! so yes it still comes down to preference but with 73 sabers built i would say pvc is a inexpensive way to go- good luck!!

Silver Serpent
02-27-2012, 06:04 PM
This isn't an inexpensive hobby, to be sure. As others have already stated, PVC and sinktubes from the hardware store are good ways to start on a budget.

Next you're gonna want to get some tools if you don't already have them. A Dremel or other rotary tool, soldering iron, set of small hand files, drill and drill bits...those will cover most of your early work. If you keep building, you'll soon be buying a soldering station, belt sander, drill press, toaster oven for paint baking, and a whole host of other things.

Watch your wallet closely. This is a great hobby, but it can run away with your finances if you don't watch yourself. :)

Weaver
02-27-2012, 06:59 PM