PDA

View Full Version : 1st Saber Prject Layout Concept. Let me know what you think

DemonBunnyman
02-14-2012, 11:12 PM
So i have been toying around with the builder for a few years is seems. have always wanted to build a saber, but didnt like any of the stock hilts and lengths they get to when its all added together. So here is the concept i am looking to build.

http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u266/demonbunnyman/onachtaicath.jpg

Jenny
02-15-2012, 01:42 AM
The switches protrude down into the section where they're mounted. You may be better off having your PLI mounted 90 degrees, rather than 180, from the switches.

DemonBunnyman
02-15-2012, 02:09 AM
I figured there maybe some space issues. So i figured i would run a smaller battery pack to solve the space issues or the PLI n the switches. Will have to see when i get the parts ordered.
Still havent got the electronics figured out yet. But as everything i will be a work in progress.

Sunrider
02-15-2012, 08:21 AM
Don't worry about the pommel structure being weak, it is not important. Bigger holes there will give better sound. With 2 of the grip sections space will become a problem. Put more thought into the inside verses the outside before committing to a design.

Batosai
02-15-2012, 09:38 AM
with my first saber I used two of those gripped extensions and I really got into space problems.
I had to put the soundboard in the front and the batterypack (2 14500s) in the back section, but I only used one AV-style switch and 2 accent leds in the hilt.
The size-difference between the normal extensions and the gripped extensions doesn't sound that bad, but it is. I was only able to put one layer of electrical tape around the batterypack, otherwise it would have been too thick to fit inside.