PDA

View Full Version : New To Forum

Weaver
12-21-2011, 09:54 AM
Hi, all.

You may have seen a couple of my posts in the past few days, but I'd like to take the time to introduce myself properly (since that seems to be what this section of the forum is for). It almost always helps, when dealing with people, to know a little about the people you're dealing with.

I am a 30 year old hobbyist who enjoys making things. Ever since the first day I picked up my pliers and began making maille (often called "chain mail"), I knew that I would want to expand that knowledge into other areas. I have also studied the art of whipmaking, and have become decently proficient with crafting 550 Paracord bullwhips. I really am happiest when I'm elbows-deep in parts and tools. I am also a tremendous fan of the original Star Wars trilogy. As a natural result, the day I saw the first Luxeon LED sabers on the 'net, I had to remind myself to breathe.

For myself, Star Wars has been much more than just a movie. It's been a tale of the struggle between good and evil, a warning against the tendancy to allow our darker emotions to sneak into our ethics and way of life, and as a cautionary tale against the allowance of any individual to gain enough power to oppress others. Because of that, and how I feel about the story in general, it only makes sense that I'd want to learn the complex and beautiful art of sabersmithing.

I have no delusions of skill or competency. I know it will take learning multiple related skill sets to even begin. That is part of the challenge. I read, I ask, I learn, I theorize. Maybe, one day, I'll be able to post a custom job on the site. For now, my studies have only just started.