PDA

View Full Version : Petit Crouton vs. Crystal Focus

Squirrel
09-27-2011, 11:47 AM
I am brand new to the saber scene.

I am sure this has been discussed before, but I was wondering what the differences are between these boards.

I have looked at both the manuals for them and they look like they have the same features.

Any help would be swell, or just point me to the thread that details this :)

Squirrel

Sunrider
09-27-2011, 12:03 PM
If you read both manuals you would know that the CF has a few more features than the PC. ;-)

Silver Serpent
09-27-2011, 12:04 PM
The boards have very similar features. They were both designed by erv after all. A few notable differences:

CF supports multiple sets of sound fonts on the same card. PC only supports one at a time.
CF supports Flash on Clash. PC does not.
CF has a higher output for the main LED (2A I believe, compared to PC's 1.5A)
CF uses an accelerometer for motion detection. PC uses mechanical swing sensors.
CF supports more accent LEDs.

There's more than that, but the CF has a much more robust feature set and allows for a greater degree of customization. That being said, the PC is no slouch. They're both excellent boards, and arguably the best on the market right now. The major advantage for the PC is its availability. You are going to be able to get one easily, since they're rarely out of stock for more than a week or two. The CF is handmade in small batches by an amazing guy in France, who currently has his hands full with a growing family.

If you gotta have the best of the best, and time (or money) is no object, I'd go for the CF. They command ridiculous prices on ebay. If you just need awesome sound without *all* the bells and whistles, the PC is an excellent choice. In either case, make sure your soldering skills aren't too rusty. Some of those soldering pads are pretty small.

Squirrel
09-27-2011, 04:07 PM
Thanks Serpent for the details.