PDA

View Full Version : New Saber Idea Design

Natesroom
07-14-2011, 09:19 AM
I know i'm new to the forums, but being a graphic designer my mind starts racing with ideas until i can put them down on paper or pixel. So i took the file into Illustrator and drew over the top of it

I probably wont get to building or working on this for the next month or so but i'll probably be buying the parts over the course of a few weeks. I wanted you guys to tell me what details on the outside of the saber i am missing.

Let me know and i'll draw them into my design so that i can properly see what it needs or what needs to be moved. I dont know how i'm gonna do the electronics yet as i am NOT one of those guys yet who know his ohms and his amps

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e33/natesroom/NewSaberDesign.jpg

tachikoma1
07-14-2011, 09:29 AM
Are you going to incorporate sound? If so, you might want to think about what kind/where to put the AUX button. Blade retention screw? You'll want to make sure Tim knows exactly where you want it so things line up. What kind of belt attachment? Covertec or D-Ring? If covertec, then also be mindful of exactly where you want it for proper alignment. Internal arrangement of electronics is also critical. Sound card, batteries, speaker, easy access to SD card if using PC or CF. Lots of variables to consider. But you only learn this stuff by doing. The electronics are not too difficult. If you get a Plecter Labs card, they have very good documentation that will help you with the wiring. I found it challenging and fun to learn.

Silver Serpent
07-14-2011, 09:31 AM
It looks comfortable to hold, appears to have plenty of room for electronics. You may run into difficulty installing the PLI so close to your main switch. Depending on your skill and tools, it might be easier to move one or the other a bit further from each other.

Natesroom
07-14-2011, 09:37 AM