PDA

View Full Version : Following parts list on basic saber list, quick connector out of stock.

ks_racegirl727
06-13-2011, 09:58 PM
Hi. I'm a newbie. Wooooo.

I'm trying to scrap up some money to get some parts from here, but I'm not sure if that will happen...

Anywho...how important is the quick connector and how long is it usually out of stock?

I also would like sound effects on mine, even if it is more advanced. If it's connecting a soldering wires, doesn't sound to intimidating.

........I love the selection on the store! But, I can't afford a lot right now. :cry:

Anyone also have suggestions for parts in hardware stores, random computer part stores or camera stores that might be a teeny bit cheaper? I know the secrets of the sink tube, but what else?
(I'm going into TV/Movies/Music anyway...I like building props that work. :D)

Thanks!!

Big_Furry_Oaf
06-13-2011, 10:18 PM
I don't really know of any other parts you can salvage from cameras or computers or anything, unless you're looking to build a reveal-style saber.
TCSS is the most inexpensive option when it comes to custom sabers. I highly reccomend saving your money and placing a large order ONLY when you're financially secure enough to do it. After you place one order, you'll want more and more and it's VERY EASY to go overboard and end up in a tight financial situation. Not that I know from experience or anything.... *eats more cold ramen noodles*

The quick connects aren't essential at all. You use them if you ever want to swap out LED's or something.
I don't think I've seen the quick connects in stock since I started visiting the forums in February.
Try these:
http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/JST-connectors-P360.aspx