PDA

View Full Version : Check on first build needed.

Viper1
03-11-2011, 03:51 AM
Hi all,

Just about to place an order for a very basic stunt saber based on lukes ROTJ. As i'm a noob I wanted to check i havent missed anything, in paticular the electrics.

HILT:

Hilt style 1 (standard switch hole)
MHS Ribbed extension
MHS Pommel Style 3V1
Blade Holder Style 8
MPS insert 1
8-32 X 1/2" Thumb screw
MPS Clip

Electrics:

Luxeon Rebel Star Blue
Luxeon Rebel Lens Holder
Buck Puck 700mA 4 wire
Luxeon Collimator Lens 8.7 Angle
4AAA Battery Holder
Push on/off Switch.
Blade.

Thank's in advance for your input:)

Boj-Vaati Mau
03-11-2011, 04:03 AM
Looks good so far. A couple of questions though; Are you going to use Akaline or rechargeable batteries? Are you going to hang it from your belt? If so you'll want a Cover Tec or a D ring. You'll need to ensure that your switch is latching and you'll probably want to go with a thick walled battle blade. Shouls look good on camera...

Jedi-Loreen
03-11-2011, 11:30 AM
Since the stars that the Rebel LEDs sit on are a bit thinner, it's also recommended to get a heat sink shim to keep the lens assembly from rattling, but it must be out of stock right now, since I don't see it in the Store. I just ordered one of those last week.

I also recommend this switch:
http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/SPST-Push-onoff-Mom-switch-with-black-button-P44.aspx
Even though it's called a momentary, it actually latches. The advantage, over the other push on-push off switch, is that your LED won't turn off briefly if you bump the switch.

These are the ones I use, and I was the one who asked Tim to carry them.

Viper1
03-11-2011, 03:03 PM