PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice about adding sound

BaylorJedi
02-23-2011, 12:02 AM
Hey guys, over the summer I built a saber via parts from this site. I wanted to stay basic so I didn't add sound. Now that I've had it for a few months I've decided the thing needs some sound added to it. Now I've done a bit of searching and came up with these schematics http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com/showthread.php?10288-2010-Electronic-Lightsaber-w-DVD-Tutorial

However I'm studying Business currently and not Engineering, so this stuff is like another language to me lol. I have spring break in a week and a half and I'll be heading home where I have the cheap-o hasbro Vader saber and I think I'll try using that sound board for starters. Now I'm assuming that I can just "add" in the sound board and speakers etc with my current set up, I'm just going to have to do a little bit of rewiring. I guess my question is, since I'm using the Hasbro set up what additional parts do I need? Since it is back home I don't have a chance to open it up right now and take a look. For instance will the speakers be OK to use from it or should I upgrade? It looks like from those schem's that I'm going to need more wire and maybe a voltage regulator? However, I'm not the expert so someone please fill me in and correct me ;)

I appreciate the help!

Malakay
02-23-2011, 02:41 AM
Tell me how you have it connected together

Silver Serpent
02-23-2011, 06:22 AM
I converted my original stunt saber to one with an econo vader board. You'll need a TIP42 PNP transistor, extra wire, a momentary switch (you likely have a latching switch), and a 5V voltage regulator if your battery pack is higher than 5V total.

The speaker that comes with the vader saber is perfectly functional. It's not great, but it does the job. The premium speaker in the TCSS store will sound better, but it's an added expense.