PDA

View Full Version : Adding exposed crystal chamber to MR FX saber? Advice? Thoughts?

ghost_a*
01-06-2011, 10:00 AM
I'm sure it's been done before or at least brought up before...

I have a Master Replicas Anakin ROTS FX lightsaber. (original, not removable blade version)
I would love to modify this hilt to to include an exposed crystal chamber between the emitter and the power switch as shown (see attachment)
The exposed crystal chamber style is obviously modeled after Galen Marek "StarKiller"'s lightsaber.

What do you guys think?
Is this something a novice could do with basic tools such as a dremel, etc.
And some low level knowledge of LEDs?

I'd like to leverage any and all existing power sources/parts/etc. from my hilt and leave the rest of it as untouched or visibly untouched as possible.
Could I basically follow this tutorial, but instead of using the LED for the blade, use the LED for the crystal itself?

http://forums.thecustomsabershop.com/showthread.php?3-05-MR-Anakin-Done-amp-kits-available

I would like to remove the blade completely, and the switch would instead power the LED to the crystal. This would be on display next to my MR LE anakin ROTS hilt.

*Forgive the crudeness of the photoshop. it's actually done in paint.NET which i'm not too familiar with.
**And the chamber itself would be exposed to the underside of the saber, as it is in the Galen Marek saber.

Rafalema
01-06-2011, 10:21 AM
The stock bladeholder goes deep, nearly to the forwardmost edge of the clamp.

And also, that kinda cutout would REALLY weaken the hilt, it could snap in a half even if you'd swing it little harder than normal.

You might have the impression that it really has a lot of room inside it. I've made this mistake with all of my sabers. Always I think that I'll have a plenty of room, and then I end up screwing something.

ghost_a*
01-06-2011, 10:32 AM
i wouldn't be dueling with this, so i wouldn't worry about it snapping in half.