PDA

View Full Version : Ok for REAL this time...

Archangel
08-01-2010, 05:50 AM
Alright with my new expenses that will have to go into my car, I need to cut back. So I came up with a much more cost effective, yet attractive saber design. The electronics aren't gonna be nearly as ***y as the other one, but hey, it IS my first build afterall. I'm going strictly with LDM's noob tutorial on this one, except for the powder coating of course. So here goes:

- Screw on LED blade holder style 12
- Hilt style 4 with standard style switch hole
- MPS Pommel style 8
- LED "Corbin style" Show blade 1" OD
* Double Wrap
* Bullet Shaped
- Build Your Own Luxeon III Electronics Kit
* 4AAA battery holder
* Red
* Collimator Lens 5° viewing angle
* 2.2ohm 5w resistor
* Push on/push off switch with black button
* Luxeon III/V Lens Holder
- 8-32 x 1/2" thumb screw
- 2 Wire quick connector
- Drill & Tap Hole (8-32)
- Powder Coating (Solar Flat Black, B121...Red, SH43...Solar Flat Black, PM81)

http://i683.photobucket.com/albums/vv200/jimmyfoo/CustomSaber1Color.png

P.s. The color on the hilt is going to be RED. I'm not sure why it's coming up that color on the Builder.. it may just be my computer monitor. If so, disregard.

Rafalema
08-01-2010, 06:03 AM
Looks good to me...

Few questions still remain:

1. What will you use to keep the insert in place? Might I suggest this? (http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/MPS-Clip--P72.aspx)

2. What will you use to secure the batteries inside the hilt? I really recommend this. (http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/MHS-speaker-mount-V2-P314.aspx) (you can use it without the speaker, just glue the battery pack there and you've got yourself a good mount.)

3. I believe that you are aware that the 5 degree lenses won't fit to the lens holder, they need to be modified a bit.

4. Also, if you want the basic black switch to look a LOT better, then I recommend this. (http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/Switch-Bezel-Nut-P270.aspx)