PDA

View Full Version : Need a simple straight forward solution

raylen
06-05-2010, 07:06 AM
Hey everyone. I need some help please! I'm an experienced prop builder but somewhat new to the electronics of saber building. I built a completely custom saber hilt for a friend and they gave me some electronic components to use from a "build your own" FX saber where you could switch which color LED was turned on. The previously owner they got it from had already monkeyed around on it and cut a few wires too short but I got it to light up the one LED and work. (This circuit is shown at the top of the pic) The two red wires that appear connected are actually to the switch.

My friend now would like to do an upgrade to a cyan Luxeon 3 LED. He also gave me the circuit from a MR saber that they'd like used. (the sound is kinda odd on the other circuit possibly due to previous owner toying with it).

The question here is...what the heck do I do now? None of the threads I found on the forums here really addressed my situation head on.

1) do I need a heatsink for the Luxeon 3 as I've seen many people doing?
2) Can the existing LED be swapped out for the Luxeon without any sort of resistor? (is the voltage compatible?)
3) I do not have the "other" side of the MR circuit's plug and I was going to wire directly to those prongs. From what I've seen it appears most of them all go to the same place anyhow.

Any help would be much appreciated. Sometimes the simplest answers are the hardest to find.

Darth Xusia
06-05-2010, 07:24 AM
Welcome to the forums.
It sounds like you have what we refer to as the "Joe Jedi" soundboard from the Master Replicas lightsaber construction set.
To try to answer your questions,
1. Yes, you need a heatsink for a Lux 3
2. The Joe Jedi board only puts out 350mA, Which is not enough to make the Lux 3 very bright. The other board in the pic should run it just fine. A cyan Lux 3 can take 1000mA.