PDA

View Full Version : Major MHS error need help urgently!!

Bob93r
05-24-2010, 06:24 AM
Hi guys,

I know that I am opening myself up for a major kicking here but I really need some sage like wisdom. I am not good with electronics (this my first attempt) and while I am reading as much as I can I am running out of time to organize the parts for this build.

Basically:
I ordered my first MHS parts the other week and they turned up a couple of days ago. Absolutely wonderful pieces, kudos to Tim.
Then problem number one arose. Because I ordered the MR soundboard and battery and speaker combo separately I did not realize that they would be too long for the 6" extension that I am using as a main body.
When I thought about putting the soundboard casing into the ribbed extension and the battery pack/speaker into the 6" extension I found out that neither of them actually fitted inside the MHS pieces.

Now I have one day to work something out before the electronics genius that I lined up (mate's old man) comes about to help me (someone has to make sure that I don't mess up too badly).

So any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
1. Anyone know how to get a MR speaker battery pack apart without losing a finger (nearly happened!). I have parts to replace these, but I spent good money on it so I would like to get some use out of it.
2. Thinking of using shrinkwrapped rechargeable AAA's and a recharge port to power it. How many AAA's would I need to power the soundcard and a P4 and get adequate run time (3 hours would be ideal)? I can fit up to eight bundled AAA's in the 6" with space for the illuminated AV and speaker.
3. I am thinking of using PVC heatshrink to cover the soundboard in the ribbed section and gluing it in place. Good, bad or other suggestions?

Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Shadar Al'Niende
05-24-2010, 06:33 AM
Hi guys,