PDA

View Full Version : Blade Choices And Help (Im New to this)

FireBlaze97
03-31-2010, 06:48 PM
Hi (hope that this is posted in the right place) Im new here signed up today March 31st, and I have decided to convert my 05 MR Luke Saber. iv aranged my various parts starting from the conversion kit to the lux/p4. Now im stuck with the blade choice. What do i get? there are 3 that I c in the shop that i know of.

This is what iv got so far in my list..... Iv got everything i need except a blade. Im also wondering if there is a video or anything like a live feed for someone to help me and my dad work on this. Im 16 so its not like im young, but anyway its going to be a spring break thing I wish to have everything ready by April 11th we will work on it that week.

BTW if you have any tips while working please give me them it will help me a lot.

8-32 x 1/4" socket head
Luxeon III/V Lens Holder
Luxeon Collimator Lens 5 deg viewing angle
Seoul P4 (Green)
MR FX Luke ROTJ conversion kit
8-32 Tap & drill set
9/64" Allen wrench
Dual 18 gauge wire
3/16" Adhesive lined heatshrink tubing
1/16" Heatshrink tubing
1/8" Adhesive lined heatshrink tubing

Thanks,
FireBlaze97

Jay-gon Jinn
03-31-2010, 09:42 PM
Did you already order that list, or not? I'd avoid the 18 gauge wire, it's much too large for what you're going to need....just get a foot of red 26 ga. and a foot of black 26 ga. instead. You also don't need the adhesive lined heatshrink tubing...the regular type will work just fine.

I would also use either an 8-32 or 10-32 set screw in the blade holder to secure the blade, rather than the 8-32 socket head cap screw. These would have a more flush appearance on the emitter than the head of that socket cap screw. I like to use a 10-32 set screw, but that's just me. They require a 3/32" allen wrench.