PDA

View Full Version : a question about clash sensors

DarthTalon
03-02-2010, 04:21 PM
i'm a noob to the forum, but i have done a ton of research, and since you all were so helpful with my last question i thought i would call upon your expertise again.

i have the yoda fx saber which i have effectively stripped of all it's parts, and i am using all of the sound components for another saber... it's prolly a silly question, but at the risk of fubar-ing my clash sensor, i would love for someone to help me figure out the pos and neg legs of the clash sensor... i don't want to begin any soldering until i know for sure, and i have spent hours looking for a schematic or diagram or something but to no avail... so any info would be awesome!

carmen

Kal El Rah
03-02-2010, 04:25 PM
The sensor has no polarity, it is basically a momentary switch.:cool:;)

also after you have figured out where you want to put it, use hot glue to make sure it doesn't come loose.

DarthTalon
03-02-2010, 04:32 PM
well, that answers my question! i would have never imagined such a tiny little thing giving me such a headache... i mean, really. but your info is so helpful! i can now get started!

i will post pics of my talon saber when it's completed!

Kal El Rah
03-02-2010, 05:07 PM
Can't wait to see your progress, remember to post it in the gallery.:cool:

Novastar
03-03-2010, 04:26 AM
Talon... yup, Kal El is right on the money. :)

The motion sensors are basically "ball-bearings" floating around in there. as they roll to certain points in there... they complete (or open) a circuit, which triggers "motion sounds" on MR boards...

The clash sensor is simply a tiny spring + metal casing (often known as a "Yusan" sensor). When enough shock vibrates the spring hard enough... the spring touches the metal sides of the inner casing, and... yep, you guessed it: they complete (or open) a circuit, which triggers the "clash sound" on MR boards...