PDA

View Full Version : First Graflex lightsaber ?'s

EliteFreestyle
02-22-2010, 04:10 PM
Hey guys, Newbie to both the forum and lightsaber building.

Here's the low down, I work part time as a babysitter, and me and the kid I babysit decided it would be a great idea to make lightsabers and using my film editing skills, film a battle scene as a fun summer project. I've decided that we will do your standard sink plumbing lightsabers this summer, but after doing some research and finding out about the Graflex sabers in ANH, I decided I wanted to build a replica for myself.

I already own the proper 3 cell Graflex flash, and just need some tips on parts and build tips.

Parts I own:
Graflex 3 cell flash

parts I am buying:
-The bubble tape for ignition box
-Rubber grip strips, size? count?
-D ring, and belt clip
-Mylar Tape

Here's the ?'s for you guys,

1) what length should the grips be, and how many should there be for the ANH style Graflex, and does anyone have a best practice for the application of them? I'm thinking of standard Epoxy, as I have become quite skilled with it over the years working on snowboards.

2) Any tips on how to apply the D-ring?

3) Any tips on the mylar strip, sounds pretty self explanatory but figured I'd ask.

4) I am thinking of buying the EL adaptor to allow me to attach a PVC pipe for filming purposes, what do you guys think of this? what diameter pipe can fit in it? and is there an LED adaptor out there? because one day I do plan on installing an LED blade and electronics.

5) Any other random tips or suggestions?

thanks

theJUDGE
02-22-2010, 06:09 PM
for the t grips i believe there are 7 and they are 3 5/8 inches long. Usually people install them with double sided tape. if you buy them from tcss they should have the tape already on them. i recommend buying them that way. my saber has these style grips and the tape works great.