PDA

View Full Version : Better than NiMh?

Shadar Al'Niende
02-04-2010, 07:44 AM
I was looking at power solutions when i stumbled across these little bad boys (http://www.engadget.com/2009/11/09/powergenix-nizn-rechargeable-aa-batteries-finally-some-cells-w/)...

That link is just a review of them but gives you a good feel for why i'm excited. They became popular just last year and have the potential to be a better Power Solution that even NiMh. I could not find a typical AA mAh rating, but it does give the ratings on some sites as follows...

Energy/weight 100 W·h/kg
Energy/size 280 W·h/L
Power/weight > 900 W/kg
Energy/consumer-price 2-3Wh/US$
Cycle durability 400-1000[1]
Nominal cell voltage 1.6 V

I'm no Electrical Engineer, but this seems like good stuff to me. Thoughts?

acerocket
02-04-2010, 10:22 AM
I don't know. It took me a while to find out what the advertised mah rating on them was to do some thinking. I found a few places were they claim these are 800 mah rated. They like to compare what they call the mwh rating. Which is just mah x voltage. I found three articles where they say these have a higher mwh rating.

"To detail more precisely the performance differences between batteries, the mAh rating—which is the product of current and time—must be enhanced to include voltage. As the product of current, time and voltage, the mWh rating delivers this much-needed measurement improvement.
Returning to the example of NiCd and NiZn cells that are each rated at 800 mAh, the mWh rating reveals the substantial performance difference between the two batteries. With an open circuit voltage of 1.2, the mWh rating of the NiCd cell would be 960 mWh (800mAh x 1.2v). Comparatively, the NiZn cell would have a much higher rating of 1280 mWh (800mAh x 1.6v).
Yes, only by employing the mWh rating does it become evident that there is a significant capacity difference between NiCd and NiZn—a difference that is masked by the limitations of the mAh rating."