PDA

View Full Version : Another cheap sound question...

NobleLion
02-01-2010, 09:18 PM
I'm completely new to this, and after a little intimidation, I think i came up with a really cool 1.25 sink tube hilt! I'm about to order my electronics and thanks to all the wisdom from you guys, I think I got this (I hope). But I need sound, and at a low price. I have a sound board out of the plastic 'Make Your Own Lightsaber Kit', and I was wondering if anybody had tried any of these, or if anybody even remembered them... I had seen some of the other threads about cheap sound, but I don't think that one was mentioned. I'd appreciate any help...

Here's what I got so far, minus some random / necessary hardware...
http://i954.photobucket.com/albums/ae25/patrickleodesign/saberhilt.jpg
Let me Know what you think, I'm prepared for brutality.

Novastar
02-01-2010, 09:45 PM
Not sure which one you mean... best to post photos of the board itself and maybe the wiring (of box too?)...

But I can say--hilt looks fine... that's a great start... and as for the wiring... with a multimeter, you should be able to discover how much current and voltage it outputs... and determine if a certain LED (such as a Luxeon III or what not) will be best there.

Crystal Chambers
02-02-2010, 06:09 AM
Not bad for a first. I like the grips and strips, and the holes around it could be nice to let light through. If you're ambitious enough to cut windows in your blade holder.

I have to ask how do you plan to insert your blade? 1.25 sinktube blade holder? If so you may need to remove the angled tube to insert the holder.

cardcollector
02-02-2010, 06:34 AM
Those Sound boards have been used before, and are very very breakable!

I went through two in one week, I love the 3 sound options but they just don't like being in a real lightsaber...

that top shroud is going to be a little dangerous to the person you're fighting.;) Make sure and warn him...

I really like the grip sections on the main hilt. very unique.